National Universities Commission (NUC) Issues Provisional Licences to 12 New Private Universities

New Universities Established in Nigeria

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has recently granted Provisional Licenses to 12 newly established private universities in Nigeria.

The presentation ceremony of these licenses took place at the NUC’s headquarters in Abuja on Thursday.

During the event, the Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu, announced that this approval had elevated the total count of private universities in Nigeria to 111, contributing to the overall tally of 215 universities.

List of Newly Licensed Universities

  • Pen Resource University, Gombe, Gombe State
  • Al-Ansar University Maiduguri, Borno State
  • Proposed Margaret Lawrence University, Galilee, Delta State
  • Khalifa Isiyaku Rabiu University, Kano, Kano State.
  • Sports University, Idumuje, Ugboko, Delta State
  • Baba Ahmed University, Kano, Kano State
  • Saisa University of Medical Sciences and Technology, Sokoto, Sokoto State
  • Nigerian British University, Asa, Abia State
  • Peter University, Achina/Onneh, Anambra State
  • Proposed Newgate University, Minna, Niger State
  • European University of Nigeria, Duboyi, Abuja, FCT
  • Northwest University, Sokoto, Sokoto State.

The minister explained that the universities would be affiliated with older-generation universities for academic and administrative mentoring, which the NUC would moderate.


Share with others who might need this information, as this was helpful to you.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.