FedEx is arguably one of the world’s most popular delivery services, facilitating the delivery of goods across domestic and international routes.
Setting up a FedEx account allows you to send packages, track packages, and alter the destination in the middle of the journey.
If you no longer want to use your FedEx account, decide to switch to a competitor, or wish to clear up your digital footprint, you should eventually erase it from the FedEx database.
You’re in luck, as this article will show you how to delete FedEx account!
How to Delete FedEx Account
When you’re ready to delete your FedEx account, you might believe that doing so is the same as deleting your profile.
These are two different things.
However, FedEx has not given a means for deleting profiles, only accounts. These are the steps to delete your account.
Step 1: Complete All FedEx Business
If you have packages to monitor, send, or invoices to pay on your account, they must be addressed first.
All packages shipped using your account number must arrive and be tracked.
Packages that you are tracing or which you have altered the receiving address must be received. In addition, all bills must be paid. You cannot delete your personal FedEx account until your account has a zero balance.
Check if any packages are still outstanding, if any payments need to be paid, and if any other continuing shipments are being tracked. Wait until these issues are rectified before proceeding to the next step.
Step 2: Access Your Account
You’ll need to log in before you can delete your account. You can only make changes to your account this way. You’ll see a list of FedEx accounts you’ve set up on your account page.
Choose the account you want to remove if you have several accounts. FedEx makes it simple to remove one account while keeping the others operational.
In this manner, you can remove your account while keeping your spouse’s account active if they both use the same profile you use to log in.
Step 3: Select the Account to Be Deleted
If you have multiple accounts, select the one you want to remove. When you move your cursor over the proper account, a small “x” will appear to the right of the account.
To delete the account, click this “x.”
Step 4: Verify the Deletion
When you click the “x,” a pop-up box will appear, asking you to confirm the termination of your account. To confirm, click “yes.”
An email will be sent to the email address associated with your account confirming the deactivation. Keep a copy of this email for your records.
Step 5: Contact FedEx Customer Service
After removing an account number from your profile, you must complete one more step by contacting FedEx customer service.
Deleting an account number from your profile is not completely removed from FedEx’s system.
You must contact their customer service at 1-800-GoFedEx or 1-800-463-3339.
When speaking with a support representative, indicate your wish to delete the account number from the system permanently.
They will give you a series of security questions to authenticate you are the account owner before deleting the number from the system.
How to Delete Your Business FedEx Account
Deactivating a business FedEx account is just as simple as deleting a personal one. If you follow these procedures, you’ll be done in no time.
Step 1: Complete All Outstanding Transactions
A corporation account cannot be deleted until all outstanding transactions and bills have been resolved.
This implies that items in transit must be received, parcels delivered to you must be signed for, and any outstanding FedEx bills must be paid.
Check your account for a complete list of all pending or in-process transactions and wait until they are completed before proceeding.
Step 2: Access Your Company Account
Log in to your corporate account once all pending and in-process transactions have been processed and your billing statement has a zero balance.
You’ll notice options such as a tab for company settings, groups, and users on the left side of the account screen.
Step 3: Deleting Groups and Users
All groups and users must be purged from the system before you may terminate an account.
To see a list of groups associated with the account, click the “groups” page. Hover over each group one by one until an “x” appears to the right of the group.
When you click the “x,” a pop-up box will appear, asking you to confirm the deletion of the group. To confirm, click “yes.” Repeat for each group in the account.
Repeat the process for users after you’ve removed all groups. Select the “users” tab on the screen’s left side. You’ll get a list of all users associated with the account.
Hover over each one until an “x” appears to the user’s right. When you click the “x,” a pop-up window asks you to confirm the deletion of the user.
If you click “yes,” the user will be erased. Repeat for each user until none remain.
Step 4: Deactivate the Account.
If you have more than one account under your company profile, you can delete one or all of them.
Hover your mouse over the account you want to remove. To the right of the account name, an “x” will appear.
When you click the “x,” a pop-up window will appear asking if you wish to delete the account. To confirm, click “yes,” and the account will be deactivated.
Deleting your FedEx account is only recommended if you like trying out the competition like UPS.
With FedEx being the no 1 delivery service in the United States, it’s important to know how to work your way around FedEx’s online platform, including how to delete your accounts.
We hope this post was helpful. If you found it useful, kindly drop a comment below.