How to Delete Your Musical.ly Account

If you have lived under a rock for the past 8 years and you’re only back in the real world and now trying to play catch-up, it would be safe to assume social media trends and development post-2014 might be lost on you. 

It is likely why you are here searching for how to delete your musical.ly account. But before we jump into it, let’s play a little catch-up.

Formerly Musical.ly Now TikTok

How to Delete Drafts on TikTok

Musical.ly first burst onto the scenes in 2014, with the DIY music app quickly garnering popularity amongst teenagers and competing for the top spot against the likes of Instagram and Snapchat in mobile app stores.

By 2016, Musical.ly boasted over 70 million registered users, gradually setting the pace for ByteDance. This Beijing-based tech company already owned the popular TikTok, a Muscial.ly equivalent, though known in China as Douyin, acquired Musical.ly in November of 2017 for $1 Billion. 

In August 2018, all Musical.ly accounts were automatically migrated to TikTok, completing the merger of both platforms.

What Is TikTok (Formerly Musical.ly) About?

TikTok is a social media app that focuses on creating short videos.

Many people think of it as a smaller version of YouTube, with videos ranging in length from five to 120 seconds. 

TikTok best describes itself as the leading destination for short-form mobile videos to inspire creativity and bring joy.

Creators can use various filters and effects and a large music library.

TikTok tracks have a lot of meme potential, which has helped the app become a hitmaker.

The best example is Lil Nas X’s song “Old Town Road.” While receiving nearly 67 million TikTok plays, the song soared to the top of the Billboard Hot 100, remaining for a record-breaking 17 weeks.

TikTok, crucially, places content discovery at the heart of its user experience. The TikTok algorithm curates a never-ending stream of videos for the For You Page. 

The video feed starts playing when the app opens, drawing viewers in.

How Does TikTok (Formerly Musical.ly) Work?

TikTok’s For You Page serves up a medley of personalized videos to each user: a mix of videos from the accounts you follow and other content the algorithm feels will appeal to you.

What Are Your Options on TikTok (Formerly Musical.LY)?

View and make videos: The TikTok experience revolves around videos. They can be uploaded or created in-app using tools like stop-and-start recording, timers, and other filters.

TikTok’s extensive music library and integration with Apple Music puts it ahead of all other social platforms. Creators can use playlists, videos, and other media to add, remix, save, and discover songs and sounds.

TikTok users can interact by following accounts they like and giving hearts, gifts, comments, or shares on videos they like. A user’s Favorites section can contain videos, hashtags, sounds, and effects.

Discover: While the Discover feed focuses on trending hashtags, users can also search for keywords, users, videos, and sound effects. Friends can be added by searching for their usernames or scanning their unique TikCode.

There is also the option of live streaming. Visual filters, time effects, split screens, green screens, transitions, stickers, GIFs, emoji, and other features are available to users.

Explore profiles: TikTok profiles display a user’s number of followers and followers and an overall total of hearts received. Official accounts, like those on Twitter and Instagram, are marked with a blue checkmark.

Spend virtual coins: On TikTok, coins can be used to give Virtual Gifts. When a user purchases them, they can be exchanged for diamonds or emoji. Diamonds can be converted into cash.

How to Delete Your Musical.ly Account (Now TikTok)

Whether you’re concerned about your privacy or what short-form videos are doing to your attention span, there are valid reasons why you should delete your TikTok account.

If you choose to delete your TikTok account, remember that all your videos will be deleted unless saved or downloaded by another user. 

So, before you say goodbye to your account, endeavour to save any favourite videos to your phone.

After you’ve saved the videos you want to keep, here’s how to say bye-bye to TikTok for good.

What You Should Know Before Deleting Your TikTok Account 

Your videos will be deleted once your TikTok account has been successfully deleted. This means you won’t have to go through the time-consuming process of deleting them yourself. The same is true for all messages in your inbox; they will be lost forever.

How to Backup Your TikTok Data Before Deleting It

Backing up your TikTok data is simple if you don’t want to lose it. TikTok may save your profile information, activity history, and app settings.

Step 1: Launch TikTok in your preferred web browser and sign in to your account.

Step 2: In the top right corner, click on your profile picture and select Settings.

Step 3: Click Data in the Privacy section to go to the Download TikTok data page.

Step 4: On the Request data tab, under Select file format (it’s checked by default), select whether you want the data in TXT or JSON format. 

The former is a machine-readable text file, whereas the latter is a human-readable text file. Then, click the Request data button.

TikTok will then begin processing your request to back up your data, which could take a few days.

You can download the backup from the Download TikTok data page’s Download data tab when the backup is complete. The file will be in ZIP format.

How to Delete Your TikTok Account

You can delete your TikTok account once you’ve decided whether or not to back up your data.

How to Delete Your TikTok Account on Mobile

Step 1: Tap the Profile button in the bottom right-hand corner of the TikTok app.

Step 2: Select Settings and Privacy from the three-line menu in the top-right corner of the screen.

TikTok profile page, with the three-line menu on the top right, highlighted and the option “Settings and privacy” highlighted.

Step 3: Select Manage Account from the menu.

Step 4: Select the final option, Delete account.

Step 5: Follow the on-screen prompts and tap Continue to confirm your choice.

After you’ve deleted your account, the final step in permanently removing TikTok from your phone is to uninstall the app from your phone.

How to Delete Your TikTok Account Using a Web Browser

Follow the steps below to delete your TikTok account using a web browser.

Step 1: Launch TikTok in your preferred web browser and sign in to your account.

Step 2: In the top right corner, click on your profile picture and select Settings.

Step 3: On the right, click Delete under Account Control. TikTok will then walk you through the procedure of deleting your account.

TikTok’s “Manage Account” page, with the “Delete” button highlighted.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Am I Unable to Delete My TikTok Account?

TikTok does not always allow you to delete your account. This does not, however, imply that you will be stuck with the account indefinitely. 

You should be able to close that account without difficulty once you’ve resolved whatever is preventing you. Lack of contact information is the most common reason many people fail to delete their TikTok account. 

Before attempting to close your account, ensure that you have entered and verified your phone number or email address. If you’re using the TikTok app, it may have experienced a glitch in some cases. Simply force quit the app and restart it.

Conclusion

There you have it. We hope this article on how to delete your musical.ly account (Just gotta say one more time, it’s now TikTok) was helpful.

If you found it useful, kindly drop a comment and don’t forget to share.

Cheers!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.