How to Delete Messages on Slack

How to Delete Messages on Slack

This guide talks about everything you need to know about how to delete messages on Slack.

Slack has largely replaced email as many workplaces’ primary daily communication tool. 

A private DM is all required to complete work instead of lengthy, formal emails between coworkers. 

Slack saves time lost to engaging in the formalities of writing emails.

While Slack helps informalize conversations between colleagues, there are certain things people wish to take back in conversations. 

Luckily, Slack allows you to delete any message, regardless of when you sent it, by default. 

This is excellent if you accidentally interrupted someone, sent a message to the wrong channel, or made a typo.

However, administrators of a workspace can also stop messages from being deleted. 

This is probably the case for your workspace if you follow the instructions below but cannot locate any deletion options.

Whether you’re using the Slack mobile app for iPhone and Android devices, the desktop app or website for Mac and PC, or both, here’s how to delete your Slack messages. 

If deleting isn’t an option, there are other options as well.

How to Delete Messages on Slack From Your Computer

How to Delete Messages on Slack

1. Launch Slack on your Mac or PC and find the message you want to delete.

2. Place the cursor over the message you want to delete, then click the three dots that appear to the right of the message.

3. From the drop-down menu that appears, choose “Delete message.” You cannot delete that message if it is not an option.

4. Click “Delete” in the pop-up that confirms your choice.

How to Delete Slack Messages on Mobile

How to Delete Messages on Slack

1. Open Slack on your iPhone or Android device, tap and hold the message you want to delete, and then release your finger.

2. From the drop-down menu that appears, choose “Delete Message.”

3. A confirmation that you want to delete it will be requested. To delete a message, select “Delete” or “Yes, Delete the message.”

How to Edit Slack Messages That You Are Unable to Delete

There is a workaround that achieves the next best result if the workspace you are in does not allow you to delete messages. 

To edit your messages after you send them, you must be in a workspace that permits this.

Step 1: Locate the message that you would like to delete but cannot.

Step 2: If you are on your desktop, click the three dots that appear to the right of it while hovering your mouse over it, then choose “Edit message.” 

Tap and hold the message when using a mobile device, then choose “Edit message.” You’re out of luck if this option doesn’t show up because it will prevent you from editing your messages.

Step 3: The message box at the bottom of the page will display the message you chose. 

Add a period or another brief punctuation mark to the end of the text. Avoid using spaces.

Step 4: On a desktop computer, hit “Enter” or “Return,” or tap the checkbox to the right on a mobile device.

Your message will be deleted, and that punctuation will replace any words you used. 

However, keep in mind that you will need to remove any links or other attachments you may have added separately by clicking the tiny X icon next to them.

Frequently Asked Questions

How to Delete a Slack Channel

Slack is a platform comprising various chatrooms where people who work together can connect for focused, productive conversation. It is the preferred communication tool for tens of thousands of organizations worldwide.

An organization’s Slack workspace will likely have more users and channels the larger it becomes. You run the risk of the Slack platform making the team less productive and focused if the workspace for your company becomes cluttered with too many channels. 

An admin or workspace owner can delete a Slack channel quickly. 

To Delete a Slack channel:

Step 1: Log in to your account and go to the workspace that contains the problematic channel.
Step 2: Select the appropriate channel from the left-hand column.
Step 3: Slightly above the screen’s top, click the gear icon.
Step 4: Select the “Additional Options…” dropdown menu option.
Step 5: “Delete this channel” should be chosen.
Step 6: Select “Delete Channel” After selecting “Yes, Click permanently delete this channel.”

What’s the Difference Between Deleting a Slack Channel, Archiving It, and Leaving It?

A channel can only be archived or left on the Slack mobile app. What makes a difference, then? You can no longer access a channel once you leave it, but other users are unaffected by your decision. 

They will still be able to do everything else even though they won’t be able to talk to you on the channel. All users are denied access to a channel when archived, and the channel’s name is removed from the list of channels. 

But administrators can access the conversation data when necessary because it is kept in the Archived Channels section. Last but not least, deleting a channel permanently and irreversibly removes all members’ access to its data.

How Can I Backup the Data in My Slack Workspace Before a Channel is Deleted?

It’s wise to create a backup first because you won’t be able to access your data after deleting a channel.  If you have a Free or Pro plan, proceed as follows:

1. Open Slack in the browser and select your workspace by clicking the name in the top left corner of the screen. The mobile app does not allow this.
2. Choose “Settings and Administration” from the drop-down menu, then “Workspace Settings.”
3. Select “Import/Export Data” from the menu in the top right.
4. Click the “Export” tab.
5. Increase the drop-down list next to “Export data range.”
6. Click “Start Export.” 
7. When the export is done, you’ll get an email. Select “Visit the export page for your workspace.”
To download the backup zip file, click “Ready for download”, and you should be done.

Conclusion

Slack makes workplace conversations easier, and knowing how to navigate the platform will be in your best interest. We hope this article was insightful.

Now, we would like to hear from you. Have you ever witnessed someone accidentally send a message on slack? How did they react? Let us know in the comments.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.